The Coconut

Ever thought of the wonders of a coconut? Well, when you come into Ghana, the first sight is some young man pushing a wheel barow. On it are some green things like balls, which I later learnt are the coconut. The young man is pushing them around town, for people to buy. He is looking for a living. But did you know that you could get more than money out of a coconut?

The coconut is divided into three parts.

1. The outer part, the hard one, can be used as fuel as wells a raw material for making sacks,

2. The second part is the juice or the water inside it. This water is full of nutrients – some mothers say its nutrients are equivalent to those in breast milk, so in the event that the mother fails to breast feed the baby, coconut juice could be an option. Apart from that, its a known cure to some heart related diseases like reducing cholestrol levels, is good for the scheme and eases digestion.

3. and the third part is the soft thing, sort of a milk coating after boiling – trust me it tastes great, you should try it, then you can feel what am talking about.

This is the begining of my discovery piece in Ghana, keep glued for another interesting piece from me, you could give a feed back on my piece and particularly more info – because  it may be new to me as I am a Ugandan, visiting Ghana for the first time.

Prossy Nandudu

2 responses to “The Coconut

  1. Thank you Prossy! I had been wondering what those are – and thanks to you, I immediately stopped one of the guys at the market today and bought one. 40 Pesewas (about 20 Euro cents!!) and FRESH! He was a bit irritated though, when I starting filming him – I think he thought he might accidentally hit me with his machete. 🙂 Hope you got a taste too…

  2. Thank you Prossy! I had been wondering what those are – and thanks to you, I immediately stopped one of the guys at the market today and bought one. 40 Pesewas (about 20 Euro cents!!) and FRESH! He was a bit irritated though, when I starting filming him – I think he thought he might accidentally hit me with his machete. 🙂

Leave a Reply

